Namaskar! for personalized shopping experience please  

  • Udhyami Utthan (UU) Online Shop
  • SupermarketQUICK Delivery
  • महिला उद्यमशिल कर्जा
  • Electronics
  • Baby Care
  • New Arrivals
  • Mobile App

Rabindranath Tagore Omnibus Iv

Write a review
In stock
10 Days
Pay by Coins:635 ThuloCoins™
In stock
10 Days
Pay by Coins:635 ThuloCoins™
रु 635

Minimum order quantity for "Rabindranath Tagore Omnibus Iv" is 1.

This item is available at
Store rating:
Delivery Location: :


Author's Name:  Tagore Rabindranath

About Author
Rabindranath Tagore (1861-1941) was the youngest son of Debendranath Tagore, a leader of the Brahmo Samaj, which was a new religious sect in nineteenth-century Bengal and which attempted a revival of the ultimate monistic basis of Hinduism as laid down in the Upanishads. He was educated at home; and although at seventeen he was sent to England for formal schooling, he did not finish his studies there. In his mature years, in addition to his many-sided literary activities, he managed the family estates, a project which brought him into close touch with common humanity and increased his interest in social reforms. He also started an experimental school at Shantiniketan where he tried his Upanishadic ideals of education. From time to time he participated in the Indian nationalist movement, though in his own non-sentimental and visionary way; and Gandhi, the political father of modern India, was his devoted friend. Tagore was knighted by the ruling British Government in 1915, but within a few years he resigned the honour as a protest against British policies in India.

Tagore had early success as a writer in his native Bengal. With his translations of some of his poems he became rapidly known in the West. In fact his fame attained a luminous height, taking him across continents on lecture tours and tours of friendship. For the world he became the voice of India’s spiritual heritage; and for India, especially for Bengal, he became a great living institution.

About Book
The Rabindranath Tagore Omnibus is a collection of six of Tagore's major works. Two Sister (Dui Bon), translated by Krishna Kripalani, was first published in 1943. One of Tagore's last novels, it explores the conflict that arises when a man does not find a mother-figure and sweetheart in the same woman, the poignancy and disturbing truth of the novel, makes it one of Tagore's finest. Sadhana, first published in 1913, is a collection of eight essays written during Tagore's six month visit to the United States and stemming from his endeavour to provide the West with a glimpse of the ancient spirit of India as manifested in its sacred texts as well as daily life. Letters to a Friend (1928) is a collection of letters written by Tagore to his lifelong friend and follower C.F. Andrews between the years 1913 and 1922, providing an intimate glimpse into the mind of the great man, as well as the cultural and political milieu of his day. The Parrot's Training and Other Stories is a delightful collection of short stories, including translations by Surendranath Tagore, Amiya Chakravarty and Rabindranath Tagore himself. The King of the Dark Chamber (Raja) was first published in 1914. Translated by Kshitish Chandra Sen and revised by Tagore, it is a thought-provoking allegory of the eternal spiritual adventure of man. Translated by Tagore and first published in 1913, Poems of Kabir is a collection of poems by the great Indian poet Kabir (1440-1518), demonstrating his mysticism and devotion to the spirit of universal brotherhood.

  • Publisher's Name:  Rupa Publications India Pvt. Ltd.
  • Publish Year: 2016
  • Binding: Paperback
  • Subject:  Fiction General,Literature General,Poetry
  • Paperback: 501 pages
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 8129106388
  • ISBN-13: 978-8129106384


No reviews found


More From the Same Seller

You May Also Be Interested In